Top of Page

Links to move inside this page.

  1. HOME
  2. About IIJ
  3. News / CSR
  4. Press Releases
  5. 2017
  6. IIJ Becomes the World's First Provider to Offer On-Demand Streaming of DSD™ 11.2 MHz High-Res Audio

IIJ Becomes the World's First Provider to Offer On-Demand Streaming of DSD™ 11.2 MHz High-Res Audio

NHK Symphony Orchestra now available for on-demand streaming on PrimeSeat, IIJ's music streaming service, in pristine DSD 11.2 MHz audio

July 3, 2017

TOKYO-July 3, 2017-Internet Initiative Japan Inc. (IIJ, NASDAQ: IIJI, TSE1: 3774), one of Japan's leading Internet access and comprehensive network solutions providers, today announced that it will stream the performances of the NHK Symphony Orchestra (NHKSO) using the high-resolution digital audio format "Direct Stream Digital (DSD) 11.2 MHz," on IIJ's music streaming service, "PrimeSeat." IIJ recorded public performances of "The Meidensha 120th Anniversary | NHKSO Afternoon Classic Series," which took place at Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall in May and June 2017, in the DSD 11.2 MHz audio format. The content will be available for free, on-demand streaming starting July 4, 2017.

DSD, a popular high-res audio format, is a method of converting an analog audio source to a digital signal. The most common sampling rates for DSD recordings are 2.8 MHz and 5.6 MHz. Above and beyond those is the 11.2 MHz level, the highest-quality audio format currently available for DSD recordings. Streaming DSD 11.2 MHz content, which contains an incredible 256 times more rates than standard CD audio, is thus a significant technical achievement. IIJ, working together with KORG INC., is now embarking on the world's first endeavor to provide on-demand streaming in the DSD 11.2 MHz format.

Overview of the DSD 11.2 MHz streaming program

Concert title [The Meidensha 120th Anniversary | NHKSO Afternoon Classic Series]
  • (*) PrimeSeat will stream recordings of the second and third performances of a three-performance series at the Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall.
Details [NHKSO Afternoon Classic Series] Second Performance
Recorded on May 25, 2017 (Thu.)
  • Streaming period: June 13, 2017-July 31, 2017
  • Program:
    • Tchaikovsky / Piano Concerto No.1 b-flat minor op. 23
    • Rimsky-Korsakov / Capriccio espagnol op. 34
    • Tchaikovsky / "Francesca da Rimini", fantasy op.32 and more
  • Conductor: Vladimir Fedoseyev
  • Piano: Boris Berezovsky
  • Streaming formats: DSD 11.2 MHz, DSD 5.6 MHz, PCM 96 kHz/24 bit
[NHKSO Afternoon Classic Series] Third Performance
Recorded on June 15, 2017 (Thu.)
  • Streaming period: July 4, 2017-August 31, 2017
  • Program:
    • Mozart / "Die Zauberflöte", opera K.620 - Overture
    • Mozart / Concerto for Flute and Harp C major K.299
    • Mozart / Symphony No.41 C major K.551 "Jupiter" and more
  • Conductor: Ton Koopman
  • Flute: Karl-Heinz Schütz
  • Harp: Charlotte Balzereit
  • Streaming formats: DSD 11.2 MHz, DSD 5.6 MHz, PCM 96 kHz/24 bit

How to stream the content

Listeners can stream the content by installing PrimeSeat, an application for Windows and Mac operating systems. Certain formats may require a converter (DAC) or stereo system for playback.
To stream DSD 11.2 MHz content, listeners must have a playback environment with a constant transfer rate of at least 24 Mbps.

Always striving to tackle new streaming technologies and amass valuable expertise in the field, IIJ will expand its range of services to bring high-quality audio to even wider audiences.

About IIJ

Founded in 1992, IIJ is one of Japan's leading Internet-access and comprehensive network solutions providers. IIJ and its group companies provide total network solutions that mainly cater to high-end corporate customers. IIJ's services include high-quality Internet connectivity services, systems integration, cloud computing services, security services and mobile services. Moreover, IIJ has built one of the largest Internet backbone networks in Japan that is connected to the United States, the United Kingdom and Asia. IIJ was listed on the U.S. NASDAQ Stock Market in 1999 and on the First Section of the Tokyo Stock Exchange in 2006.

The statements within this release contain forward-looking statements about our future plans that involve risk and uncertainty. These statements may differ materially from actual future events or results. Readers are referred to the documents furnished by Internet Initiative Japan Inc. with the SEC, specifically the most recent reports on Forms 20-F and 6-K, which identify important risk factors that could cause actual results to differ from those contained in the forward-looking statements.

For inquiries, contact

IIJ Corporate Communications

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

End of the page.

Top of Page